de | en

wilhelmshöhe castle

In place of the hunting lodge of Landgrave Maurice, one of the last major buildings of the age of absolutism emerged under William IX, the classical summer residence Wilhelmshöhe Castle (1786-98). The three-wing building, which was originally built to a charming pavilion system based on the English model by the architects Simon Louis Du Ry and Heinrich Christoph Jussow, was united as a single structure by the master builder Heinrich Regenbogen in 1829. The central section, which was destroyed in the war and rebuilt, has housed the world-renowned Gallery of Old Masters and the Collection of Antiques since 1974. In the southern Weissenstein Wing, which remained intact, castle rooms are presented with historical furnishings.